London Days 1 & 2 2017

After getting off the plane in London, I had absolutely no idea where to go. The same girl who I had met on the plane, I asked if I could come along with her & her friends. Coming off a plane at Heathrow airport was more confusing than any other airport I’ve been in. There were so many steps to take.

After finally going through customs & luggage, we made it to a sit down area where the rest of the students were from the flight. We still had to wait for people, so I was probably standing for about 45 minutes to an hour. All I wanted to do was sleep. Sight-seeing in a country you’ve never been in is great and all, but all I wanted to do was take a nap.

Now that it’s three days later writing the rest of this post, I’d rather not do a play-by-play. Only because this post would be way too long, & I can update you guys more  on my orientation in Rome & other things.

Our hotel in London was nice, except for the wifi. I couldn’t get on any app or even my laptop. 

The afternoon arriving in London, a group of girls and I visited Abbey Road, which was very busy & hard to take pictures, & Platform 9 3/4. There was an extremely long wait to take pictures for Platform 9 3/41, but it was so worth it.

London day 2 the program did a bus tour of some main sites of London, including The Buckingham Palace, Changing of the Guards and other places. You know in movies where you see shops all lined up next to each other (i.e. pet store, market, home goods, designer brands, beauty, etc.)? That is what Kensington & the city of London pretty much looks like from my point of view. It’s great though, I love places like that!

After the bus tour, the group of girls and I had gone to a pub to get lunch. I got some traditional fish & chips — 10x better than the American version! Keep in mind that we took the Tube A LOT while in London. We took the the to go see Big Ben & The London Eye which unfortunately was under- construction. Still a great view all around that area! Everything in London is beautiful. Some areas made me feel like I was in The Parent Trap (the one with Lohan).

After taking the tube back to Kensington, we went to this little tea shop called, “The Muffin Man,” and if was just the cutest! REALLY good food and tea as well.

Overall, I would say that I like London. I don’t quite love it. Not everywhere is for everyone. And that’s the best part about traveling: experiencing it. Experience what you can, do your best to enjoy everything around you. If the place isn’t for you, no one is forcing you to go back to it. Keep moving forward.
xx   Jordan

Leave a Reply

